daddy

i’m thinking about a friend
one who’s been there for me
since i was a little child
he’s been there, my pillar of strength
my source of comfort
my teacher and friend

even in the tough times
he was there to lend a hand
he picked me up when I fell
held my hand when i was scared
my constant joy
my companion and guide

in the rain he was my shelter
in the dark he was my light
in the pain he was the comfort
he always helped me through
an angel to guard
a father to love

daddy, I want to say thanks
ilove you for all the things
you sacrificed for me
i love you for being there
and listening when no one would
daddy, you’re still the star in my sky

(i wrote this sometime in high school circa 2000 for my dad)

Leave a Reply

